Free Consultation (210) 777-4878
if we don’t win, we don’t get paid. Free Consultation
Free Consultation
Villarreal & Begum Last Updated Date: June 3rd, 2021

Understanding Texas Motorcycle Laws

motorcycle crashes

Riding a motorcycle can be a freeing experience, and in Texas, you can ride all year long with the sunny weather. However, motorcycles come with risks. One of those being more likely to be in a deadly accident. In fact, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, motorcyclists are 25 times more likely to be killed in an accident, as opposed to those in passenger cars.  Even doing the most to ensure your safety on a motorcycle doesn’t stop negligent drivers from causing accidents. Below are some of the laws regulating motorcycles in Texas, so you can make sure you safe and prepared on the roads.

Getting on the Road

Before you can even get on a motorcycle, you need to acquire a Class M license. This requires the motorcyclists to complete a safety course that has been approved by the Texas Department of Public Safety. Next, is to make sure you have the proper headgear. When under the age of 21, you are required to wear a helmet while riding on a motorcycle. This includes passages as well. Anyone over the age of 21 can opt-out of wearing a helmet. To do this, you must take a special safety course or have additional insurance. You are required by law to carry compulsory liability insurance that will pay a minimum of $30,000 per person injured in an accident in Texas. Property damage of at least $25,000 and a minimum of $60,000 got multiple people in an accident must also be provided.

An illegal practice that should be avoided while driving a motorcycle is lane splitting. This is illegal in most states, including Texas. For those who don’t know, lane splitting is when a motorcycle is driving between lanes of slow-moving or stopped traffic. This is an extremely dangerous practice and should not be attempted.

Motorcycle Accident Claims

If you have been in a motorcycle accident, your first priority is to get better. The last thing on your mind should be fighting the insurance companies to get the money you deserve. Unfortunately, many victims find themselves in that exact situation. Greedy insurance companies will try to take advantage of your current state and use that to give you less than you deserve. Don’t let yourself be victimized twice. Call a personal injury attorney. A San Antonio personal injury attorney will be able to fight on your behalf to get you the compensation you deserve, while you focus on your recovery.