It’s important to remember that it is illegal to drive in Texas without the minimum amount of liability insurance. If you happen to get into a car crash with no insurance, the police will likely give you a ticket. They may even have your car towed. Some cities even allow police to impound your vehicle! To keep it short, you should not drive without car insurance.
Will I Face Criminal Penalties?
As mentioned previously, you will most likely receive a fine. Driving without insurance has its penalties. The state may also suspend your license for up to two years if you’re a repeat offender. However, you should note that there are other charges you can face if you were at fault or contributed to the crash. This is even true if you do have insurance. Of course, most of the time, these would be only minor traffic violations. For example, failure to stop at a stop sign, or failing to yield to oncoming traffic. However, you could face serious criminal charges if the police believe you were driving recklessly.
On top of the tickets associated with driving without insurance, you could be charged more when it comes to renewing your driver’s license. Under Texas Transportation Code Chapter 708, additional administrative fees can be added. You can expect to pay a max of $250 a year in surcharges, for the next three years following your ticket. While 3 years might not sound too bad, you also have to deal with insurance rates. Obviously, if you want to continue driving, you’ll need to get insurance. But be prepared for high insurance rates. When you apply for coverage after driving without insurance, the insurance companies will increase their rates. Your record will make you seem like a high risk, and your premium will reflect that.
In Texas, you are required to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance. This coverage pays out to cover the costs associated with medical care, vehicle repairs, and other damages a crash victim may face. In
In Texas, your coverage must include includes:
- $30,000 for each injured victim;
- $60,000 per accident; and
- $25,000 for property damage.
WHO CAN I TALK TO ABOUT MY TEXAS CAR CRASH?
Have you or a loved one been in a serious car crash and suffered injuries? If so, you should contact an experienced Personal Injury attorney. Villarreal and Begum is a local San Antonio firm that will fight to get you the compensation that you deserve. We serve clients across Texas with offices in San Antonio, Austin, McAllen, and Laredo. We are available day and night to take your calls. Call or contact us via our website. The Law Guns will fight for you.
The Villarreal & Begum, LAW GUNS dedicates their time and effort towards helping people in Texas find justice for personal negligence encountered while living their normal, everyday lives.